Music Video Fascination

I think I would be leaving out a big part of my experience here if I didn’t mention EXE TV. My hotel only has about 15 TV channels but 2 of them are EXE TV, non-stop music video channels (aka MTV years ago). Since I’m still a beginner at Spanish and none of the other channels are in English or have sub-titles, I find myself turning on EXE anytime I’m at my hotel. They play videos from all over but mostly from the US and Mexico. Sometimes they even play a string of videos in a row from one artist (e.g., Lady Gaga, Bruno Mars).

For the most part, the local popular music on EXE is great. However, there are several Spanish music videos that continue to mesmerize and confuse me, even when I figure out what the lyrics mean. Aire Soy with Miguel Bose (a famous Spanish singer) and Ximena Sarinana (a Mexican singer) is my all time favorite. If you haven’t seen this video, watch it immediately. It’s incredible while at the same time being extremely creepy.

The dance moves are pure genius. I’ve named a few of my favorites so look out for them:

  • “Synchronized Backward Spin”
  • The “Snaking Reach Across”
  • The “Stare Down”
  • “Peekaboo” – performed by Miguel close to the end, this one is amazing

Leave a comment